What do you do?

A place to talk about any and all things not related to Space Camp.

Moderator: Vincent

SpaceCanada
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

What do you do?

Post by SpaceCanada »

In response to Sam asking me 'what do you do?', I figured I would start a thread for people to write down either (a) what they are studying or (b) what they do for their career.

We all know Vincent is a Space Camp counsellor for his summer job, and many of us wish we could be working alongside of him, but what is he studying in school?

So... Sam, in response to your question, I am an engineering designer/draftsperson. I work for a company that designs metal panels that cover the exteriors of buildings. They look really cool. We put panels on all kinds of buildings, like jails, schools, apartment buildings, etc.

What I specifically do is look at the architect's drawings for a buiding, find out where the want our metal panels to go, and then I have to design the panels to go on that part of the building. I make drawings of the panels, get them approved by the architect, and then make an order form so that the guys in the back can make the panels the way we want them.

Any questions?

So, what does everyone else do for their jobs? What will everyone be studying in college/university/technical school?
Last edited by SpaceCanada on Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Jennifer -
Youth ASA 6-Day 1998 1999
Adult ASA 8-Day 2004; Alumni 2007, CSC 2013, 2015, 2017
SamM
Pathfinder
Pathfinder

Post by SamM »

wow that actually sounds like a lot of fun!

i'm going to study aeronautical/ aerospace engineering in college (hopefulyl at MIT)....i can't wait!
Space Nerd
An Original Seven
An Original Seven

Post by Space Nerd »

This fall I will study Computer Systems Networking. More specifically networking with Novell. That way I can afford to go back to college for my next degree in psychology :). But yeah to pay for the first one I lifeguard at a pool behind my house.