Informal space science education thread

A forum for the discussion of actual scientific events, phenomena, space-related news, etc.

Moderator: Vincent

des
Pathfinder
Pathfinder

Informal space science education thread

Post by des »

I thought I'd start a thread for the three of us, and anybody who might be interested in dropping in and adding their two cents.

I have been working at this camp/school for two years in the summer.
They have a range of classes from juggling, arts, whiz bang science, Harry Potter, etc etc. I have had a space exploration class for two summers that was an hour long, daily for three weeks. Then the thing repeats. I had two groups-- 1-3rd grade, and 4-6th grade.

With both groups I did things like Alka-Seltzer rockets, various other types of rockets, paper airplanes and whirly birds, the Toys in Space video (played with toys, predicted what they might do in space and then watched the video), space food, working in space (various races or timing with heavy gloves on), etc.

With younger kids I did "space naps" and more arts activities (a table top solar system), constellation pictures, and sunprints.

With older kids we did a neat comet demo involving Nerds and gelatin, distances in the solar system (done in a football field), etc.

I am planning a four hour a day camp for kids in 4-8th grade (I wanted it 5th-7th grade, oh well). Anyway, I am borrowing a space shuttle simulator something like this:
http://www.recordnet.com/apps/pbcs.dll/ ... 70318/1001
(There is also a mission control portion.)
I am also planning on a trip to Mars (ok it's really New Mexico-- looks like Mars) for soil and rock samples and then examine them. Building and launching Model rockets (Estes). Robotics. Living in space (space food, etc.).