Prep for Adult ASA

Going to camp soon? Have questions about camp? Post them here for those that have gone to answer.

Moderator: Vincent

gt0163c
Pathfinder
Pathfinder

Prep for Adult ASA

Post by gt0163c »

Now that my life has calmed down a bit, I'm starting to take some more time to prep for Adult ASA this October.
Obviously no preparation is really required, but I figure I'm not the only one excited about camp and looking for ways to help make the time seem to go by a little quicker.

So, what's everyone doing to prep for camp?

I'm currently reading Chris Hadfield's book "An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth". I'll finish that this weekend. Not sure what's next on the "to be read pile", so I'm looking for suggestions.

I thought I'd also brush up on the flight characteristics of the sims we'll fly at Aviation Challenge (I'm a lousy pilot but a helluva engineer :wink: ). Are the sims still based on F-18s or have they leaned forward enough to switch to F-35s?

One time I went to camp as a kid, a few of my teammates and I discovered that we all knew a bit of American Sign Language. That came in handy during mission anomalies when we had communications issues. Not sure if anyone else going knows ASL, but I thought I'd at least try to relearn the alphabet and a few other basic signs.

Anyone have other ideas of what to read, learn or do as we wait for the middle of October?
Level I Aug '89-Rockwell
Level II Aug '91-Lockheed Engineering
Level II Aug '92-Lockheed Aerospace-Right Stuff Award
Adult ASA Sept '07-Marshall MS
Adult ASA Train With an Astronaut-Oct '15-Discovery-Commander's Cup, Challenger Award, Alumni Coin
SpaceCanada
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

Re: Prep for Adult ASA

Post by SpaceCanada »

We are gearing up our spaciness too. I highly recommend reading 'the Martian' and watching the film before camp if you can. We will be flying out that day so we won't get to see it until after camp unless we all go to the cinema the night we arrive.