Total noob...where have I been?!

Going to camp soon? Have questions about camp? Post them here for those that have gone to answer.

Moderator: Vincent

wxnerdjenn
Camper
Camper

Total noob...where have I been?!

Post by wxnerdjenn »

Hi guys, I just registered after finding this site today. I am 31 and have dreamed of space camp since a school field trip to the Houston space center in 6th grade. Unfortunately such luxuries were never in my single dad's budget. Last week to celebrate my birthday, my amazing mom paid for us to go to Houston and do jsc's level nine tour. That reignited my interest in space and unleashed a monster. I was planning a trip to Huntsville for an unknown point in the not so distant future and stumbled upon a page about space camp for adults. Holy cow, I about fell out of my chair. How on earth did I never know about this before?! Anyway, my heart is set and I'm definitely going as soon as I can. I noticed on the registration page that there is only one four day camp listed. Bummer. I won't be able to swing the money (and time off work) in time to snag one of of last 3 spots. The dates listed only go through September, so I'm wondering if that's it until next summer or is there any hope for sometime after September?

I am so excited already and can't wait til I can bit that registration button and make it real. Glad I found a forum to provide some further information!

Jenn
January 16-18, 2015 - Adult 3 Day Space Camp
Team Challenger
---Alpha: Science Officer in MOCR ---- Bravo: Pilot ---- Charlie: Commander
October 11-16, 2015 - Adult Advanced Space Academy
p51
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

Re: Total noob...where have I been?!

Post by p51 »

Jenn,
Welcome to the club. We have jackets. Really! :wink:
We all know where you're coming from. You'll love Space Camp. I've done it twice now and will be going back again this fall (I'm in my 40s).