Adult at 3-day camp, Fall of 2012, what should I expect?

Going to camp soon? Have questions about camp? Post them here for those that have gone to answer.

Moderator: Vincent

p51
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

Adult at 3-day camp, Fall of 2012, what should I expect?

Post by p51 »

I just signed up for a September slot last night and am going to the 3-day adult program. I've never been to space camp before (it's only been 30 years since I first dreamt of going). The website has very few details on the adult program. Therefore, I have some questions that I couldn't find elsewhere.
I would mostly be asking these questions of an adult that's been there in the last year and for the 3-day program, as I'm sure past experiences might not be relevant to what I'll encounter:
1. Do they house adults in the hab or at a hotel? I saw a blog on the former week-long adult camp than mentioned a hotel. I'm a former Army officer so I'm fine bunking with others, just curious as to what I should expect.
2. Does anyone think you odd if you show up with your flight suit already? I found a good on on ePay and have swapped out a couple of the patches and I have my own nameplate patch already (I used to volunteer with WW2 airplanes and wore flight suits then and on active duty so I have several already). The photos I've seen on places like flickr show most folks seem to have bought their suit at the camp. Do people give you grief for not looking like you bought yours the day before?
3. Generally, what do the adults do in the off hours? I'd assume most hang around the area?
4. What are the general hours for camp?
5. Do adult campers catch any grief from the public they might run into when in camp gear? I can hear it now, "What do you mean, you're not here with your kid? Geez, what's the matter with you, a grown man going to this program alone?"
6. How many adults show up for the 3-day course? How many groups are there if there are more than one?