Please tell me about your experiences in the 3 day program

Going to camp soon? Have questions about camp? Post them here for those that have gone to answer.

Moderator: Vincent

JennyGirl
Junior Camper
Junior Camper

Please tell me about your experiences in the 3 day program

Post by JennyGirl »

My 2009 New Years resolution was to finally go to space camp. I've been dreaming of attending for years. I am an undergrad going for my BS in Space Science, and this is definately something that I really really want to do for myself. However, I work full time and go to school 3/4 time, and I have a husband who is completing his MS in engineering & also working full time, so we have hectic schedules to say the least. I do not know if I'll be able to take an entire week off of work in August/September which are the only dates available for the ASA. But, I can attend the 3 day program without any work related issues. My husband said if I do the 3 day program he'd really like to go as well, so there's another incentive for me to do the 3 day. Anyway, I was just wondering for those of you who've attended the 3 day program, what was the experience like? Is it too short? Will it be a good way to "get my feet wet" and then register for the 6 day program next year? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Conan
Pathfinder
Pathfinder

3 day program

Post by Conan »

My first Space Camp experience many years ago was the Adult 3-Day program. Since then, I have returned 10 times. I found the 3 Day program to be an excellent program and still very intense. I later took the longer program and it was even more intense and fun, but I still got a lot out of the 3 day program and I would highly recommend it as a beginner.
I have also attended many times, the 3 day Parent/Child program with several of my nephews. This is still a lot of fun, but it is mostly geared at the childs level so it isn't nearly as challenging for the adult.