Anyone at SC ever get offended at the Von Braun story?

A place to talk about any and all things not related to Space Camp.

Moderator: Vincent

p51
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

Anyone at SC ever get offended at the Von Braun story?

Post by p51 »

In this day of PC-ness, I wonder if anyone has ever gotten offended at the hero-worship factor at Huntsville for Von Braun?
Not bash the man, just wondering if anyone's ever been offended at the way he's looked at in regard to his past with the Germans (slave labor building V1's and V2's, member of the SS, etc).
I'm not bashing anything, but I just wonder if anyone at camp has ever gotten a little miffed. I ask this because some Germans helped the Army deveop several weapon system with the Ordnance Corps after WW2 was over, and while I was at Aberdeen proving Grounds as an Army officer I heard a few people get offended at the lack of info on the use of "former Nazis" as well as the inclusion of several German tanks and weapons on the museum grounds (never mind those were war trophies and brought back for testing during WW2).
Skidmark
Space Academy: 2012, 2013 and 2014
Advanced Space Academy: 2016 and 2018

Undefeated for winning mission patch designs!
Official Space Camp Ambassador
Benji
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

Re: Anyone at SC ever get offended at the Von Braun story?

Post by Benji »

In my experience, they don't try to hide that Von Braun was opportunistic in pursuit of his goals for spaceflight. They could do more to discuss it, but I think people just aren't that interested in history. I do think there is some amount of unapologetic "hero worship" that should be tempered by the Nazi association; I mainly worry about setting the example that it is okay to accomplish ones goals regardless of the costs.
Ad astra per aspera.
p51
HabForum Junkie
HabForum Junkie

Post by p51 »

Benji wrote:I mainly worry about setting the example that it is okay to accomplish ones goals regardless of the costs.